Verus String Quartet

String Quartet
©Satoshi Oono

Sakiya Naoto, 1st violin
Mihara Hisao, 2nd violin
Yokomizo Koichi, viola
Tomioka Rentaro, cello

Verus String Quartet was formed by students of Toho Gakuen School of Music in 2006. In 2008 they won Third Prize at the ARD Munich International Competition. The Quartet made their official debut at Oji Hall in 2009. They won the Aoyama Music Prize at Kyoto. In 2011, the Quartet won the “Exaequo” Prize at the Basel Orchestra Society (Basler Orchestergesellschaft, BOG) Competition, and Third Prize in the string quartet division at the 7th Osaka International Chamber Music Competition. They completed Musik-Akademie der Stadt Basel in 2012. Verus String Quartet began their activities in Japan in 2013. They organized a series of three concerts at Hakuju Hall as its resident artist starting from 2014. The Quartet made a concerto debut performing with the Kanagawa Philharmonic Orchestra in 2016, and gave solo performances at a regular concert of Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra in 2017. They have performed with Menahem Pressler, the founder of Beaux Arts Trio, Kobayashi Michio, Richard Stoltzman, Paul Meyer, Alexander Romanovsky, and others.