"Shiiki presents Argerich's Haus" Resident Artists

About "Shiiki presents Argerich's Haus" Resident Artists

"Shiiki presents Argerich's Haus" Resident Artists (hereinafter referred to "Resident Artists") began being appointed in 2018, commemorating the 20th anniversary of the Beppu Argerich Music Festival. The Haus was built in praise of world-best artist Ms. Martha Argerich for her achievements with the Music Festival and to serve as a base to hand her philosophy down to the generations to come.

Seeking the ideal of music, the Resident Artists will have intensive rehearsals at the "Shiiki presents Argerich's Haus" and will regularly perform in the Argerich's Haus chamber music series and other concerts. They will also give master classes. Through these activities, the artists will spread to society the essence of art from Oita Prefecture and act as a bridge for international exchanges through music by sending out rich art and culture inside and outside Japan.

Through their performances, the Resident Artists will be more deeply involved in the promotion of art and culture driven by Argerich Arts Foundation at Argerich's Haus that aims to be a palace of music culture by carrying the history made by Ms. Martha Argerich onto the future.

So far, three musicians who are actively performing around the world have been appointed as Resident Artists. All of them have performed in our Music Festival and at Argerich's Haus before.

Argerich Arts Foundation hopes to nurture a salon culture by accumulating encounters and exchanges between musicians and the audiences of Oita Prefecture and elsewhere and sharing artistic experiences at Argerich's Haus, a base for sending out classical music culture.
Furthermore, we will promote more concrete activities for the creation of musical arts, the promotion of international mutual understanding, the development of rich hearts of children, and the creation of culturally wealthy local communities in Oita Prefecture.

Kyoko Takezawa's photograph

Kyoko Takezawa



When Kyoko Takezawa was a student at Toho Gakuen Music High School, she won First Prize at the 51st Music Competition of Japan along with the Leucadia Prize and Kuroyanagi Prize. In 1986, she had an overwhelming victory at the second Quadrennial International Violin Competition in Indianapolis. Since then, Takezawa has been ascending in international stardom. She has performed as soloist with such prominent orchestras as the New York Philharmonic, the Boston Symphony, the Chicago Symphony and London Symphony Orchestras, the Moscow Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. Takezawa has collaborated with many distinguished conductors, including Zubin Mehta, Leonard Slatkin, Riccardo Chailly, and Seiji Ozawa. Based on her experience of studying the violin at the Talent Education Research Institute, she also engages in educational activities. Takezawa serves as a juror at a number of international competitions including Yehudi Menuhin International Competition for Young Violinists and Concours international Marguerite-Long-Jacques-Thibaud. In the 2018 season she celebrated the 30th anniversary of her debut and gave recitals in various places with great success. Takezawa received the 3rd Idemitsu Award and Aichi Prefecture Art Cultural Award. She plays the Antonio Stradivarius "Samazeuilh" violin (1735) on loan from Nippon Music Foundation. Currently Takezawa resides in Paris. She is a resident artist of Argerich's Haus since 2018.
Kyoko Takezawa official website: http://www.kyokotakezawa.com/
Yoshiko Kawamoto's photograph

Yoshiko Kawamoto



Yoshiko Kawamoto started studying the violin at the age of three in the Talent Education Research Institute. She studied at Toho Gakuen "Music Class for Children," Toho Gakuen Music High School, then Toho Gakuen School of Music. Kawamoto has studied the violin with Toshiya Eto and Aiko Suzuki and chamber music with Yasuo Sueyoshi and Koichiro Harada. She started performing in public while she was a student. In 1991, when she joined the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra, Kawamoto converted to the viola. She served as first violist from 1999 to 2002 when she left the Orchestra. Kawamoto has been one of the most active viola soloists and chamber musicians. Kawamoto won the highest prize in the viola division of the Geneva International Music Competition in 1992. She received the Muramatsu Award in 1996, the 7th Nippon Steel Corporation Fresh Artists Award in 1997, and the TonenGeneral Music Awards Encouragement Prize in 2015. Kawamoto has participated in numerous music festivals and concerts as soloist and chamber musician performing with Martha Argerich, Yuri Bashmet, and so on. She has also performed as soloist with prestigious conductors including Gary Bertini and Jean Fournet. Kawamoto is a member of Kyoto Alti String Quartet and AOI Residence Quartet. She became the principal guest violist of the NHK Symphony Orchestra in April 2017. Kawamoto is one of Argerich's Friends who sympathize with the idea of the Pinocchio Concert. She is a resident artist of Argerich's Haus since 2018.
Yu Kosuge's photograph

Yu Kosuge



Yu Kosuge made her recital debuts at Carnegie Hall in 2005 and at the Salzburg Music Festival in 2006. She performed with the Berlin Symphony Orchestra, Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra, etc. alongside famous conductors such as Seiji Ozawa and Charles Dutoit. In 2010 Kosuge performed with Camerata Salzburg under the baton of Philippe Herreweghe substituting Ivo Pogorelich at the Salzburg Festival. From 2010 to 2015 she gave concerts (eight in total) playing complete piano sonatas by Beethoven in Tokyo and Osaka, which won the highest praise. Currently Kosuge promotes Beethoven MO-DE, a new project to perform all of Beethoven's pieces on piano, such as chamber music and lieder with piano accompaniment. She received the 48th Suntory Music Award in 2017. In the autumn of 2017, Kosuge embarked the recital series "Four Elements" focusing on "water, fi¬re, air and earth." She is a resident artist of Argerich's Haus since 2020.